You are here

Congratulations to the new European Parliament President, Roberta Metsola

18 Jan 2022
All Committees
European Parliament Outreach

On Tuesday, 18 January Roberta Metsola, MEP (EPP, MT) was elected as President of the European Parliament with 458 votes in the first round of balloting. Together with our member companies operating in Europe, AmCham EU looks forward to working closely with President Metsola and the European Parliament to ensure a prosperous and sustainable EU recovery.

Roberta Metsola who has been an MEP since 2013, will lead the Parliament in the second half of the current legislative term, until a new Parliament is constituted following the 2024 European Elections.

Alice Bah Kuhnke, MEP (Greens/EFA, SE) came second with 101 votes, while Sira Rego, MEP (GUE/NGL, ES) was in third place with 57 votes. The fourth proposed candidate, Kosma Złotowski, MEP (ECR, PL) withdrew ahead of the vote.

For more information, contact Roberta Brumana (